My Genesis

Finding tarmac is freedom
One Saturday having a braai and a drink with good friends, who then started joining us in our weekly spiritual endeavors (it is the least we can do), my wife was invited by our good friends’ new girlfriend for a fun-run. So girlfriends about town on a Saturday morning set out and ran/walked 5KM.

I was still sleeping by the time my wife got back home, coming into the room barely after the sun came up.

I remember being so proud of her and thinking I really need to do something – after all I am healthy, young and just plain lazy when I am around the house. Playing Xbox is not really exercise, in the same as Doritos isn’t health-food!

So next race I signed up and myself, my wife, our friends, her colleague and his girlfriend and my sister in law and her better half set off to start (most of our) first race.

This is where my healthier story starts, and my quest to get to a point where I can do 10km run without stopping or wishing for a swift death halfway through.

Leave a Reply

